Summer Suppers

Back to the local Farmer’s Market for the first time in a month (I’d been out of town every Saturday). Summer food was in! Tomatoes! Blueberries! Corn! The last baby lettuces (a DSC_0343little leggy, but still fine)! Peaches! Green beans! Cantaloupe! Zucchini! Cucumbers!

I look forward to this influx every year – it’s hard for me to write new interesting things or recipes, because all I want is fresh corn (with a little butter), sliced Cherokee Purple tomatoes, a piece of cheese, and cantaloupe for dessert. Or an appetizer. Or both. So that’s what I had for supper. And it’s probably what I’ll have for supper tomorrow night, too. Yum!

It’s a supper too easy for any recipes, especially since I learned last year to microwave the corn in the husk…and the husk and silk slip right off without difficulty after 2-3 minutes of cooking per ear. This is where I found it this year: http://theculinarychase.com/2012/05/corn-on-cob-cool-and-super-easy-way-to/     and their photo of the last step before eating:

corn

Again, yum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

