French Toast!

Next to last day of January. It was a perfect storm. But not snow. The snow was descending on New England measured in feet, but it was 50+ degrees here. No, I was having food struggles. The holidays were long over, but there were still foods left in the freezer and cupboards. And a friend was moving, and was cleaning out her freezer, fridge, and cupboards as much as possible. And we are paid at the end of the month, but in December payday was on the 19th, before Christmas break. And the money carefully budgeted money to stretch over the whole holiday season and all of January was down to loose change, so I was running out of milk, eggs, bread, fresh vegetables and fruits. I still had lots of frozen veg, fruit and entrees from the farmer’s market last summer, so actual hunger wasn’t an issue. I was bored and tired of what I had. So when the friend brought in a big round loaf of frozen cranberry-walnut bread, that came from a local baker who sets up at the Farmer’s Market during the season, it was wonderful! We were happily toasting and buttering it for lunch, when J. mentioned using it to make French toast. What a great idea! Something new!

I used to be the French Toast Queen: I made it for my daughter’s slumber parties, for weekends, whenever I had enough time to soak the bread to make it rich and succulent. Even for Sunday suppers.

So I cut two nice slices of cranberry-walnut bread and took them home. I scrounged up enough change to buy a dozen eggs.  And then made French 20150129_065735toast for breakfast the next morning. I’ve never had a recipe: FOR 2 slices of thick bread, us 1 egg, about ¼ cup of milk, beaten together a dish with a raised edge. Then the bread set to soak for 10-15 minutes on each side while I took care of morning task. Heat up a skillet, add a light film of olive oil and cook 3-5 minutes on each side until firmed and cooked through. Now if I use a plain white or whole wheat bread, I will add vanilla and cinnamon to the egg mix, but thought this bread had enough flavor on its own. And it did. I added a nice pat of butter. Nothing else. Didn’t even need maple syrup. Delish!

This entry was posted in breads, breakfast. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to French Toast!

  1. kim says:

    Hi Lee, I have enjoyed reading your blog since discovering recently and would like to nominate you for a Liebster award. You can find the details here: http://spiralspun.com/2015/02/04/liebster-award/
    (I completely understand if you don’t want to take part and I will not feel offended in any way if you choose not to) 🙂

Leave a Reply

