Breakfast waffles

I was inspired by some visiting family to break out the Belgian waffle maker and make waffles.

When I was first given this new waffle maker earlier this year (my old one had stopped working several years ago), I’d looked for my recipe, but couldn’t find it. All I could remember was the egg whites were beaten separately. So I tried to pull a few recipes off the internet and work something out. But the waffles just weren’t right, and I put the waffle maker away again. But when I pulled it out this time, I reached without thinking for my old (really old) “Joy of Cooking” that I had received as a wedding gift many years ago, the book my grandmother frequently used.   And there was the waffle 7.13recipe, with my notes and some stains around the “about waffles” section. With a few adaptations (according to my old notes), the waffles were perfect, with lots of butter in them, just the way I remembered. Ahhh… more waffles soon in my future.

Waffles:

  • scant 1 1/4 cups A.P. flour, sifted
  • 2 teaspoons double acting baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar (for sweet waffles – omit for savory waffles)
  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups milk

Sift together the (already sifted) flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar into a bowl.

Beat egg whites until stiff and hard peaks form. Set aside.

Beat the yolks separately until lighter and lemon-colored. Add the melted butter and milk and mix quickly until just combined. The batter should will have small lumps. Add the beaten egg whites and fold into the batter until just barely blended. Pour into waffle maker until  2/3 full (this part takes experimenting for each waffle maker).  Serve with butter and syrup. Or sliced fruit:  I like sliced fresh summer peaches and chopped walnuts, or sauteed apple slices.

waffle & syrup 7.13

 

Savory waffles can be the base for supper: chicken and waffles (which is diced cooked chicken chunks in gravy), or a sausage gravy served over them.

 

 

This entry was posted in breads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

