Farmer’s Market Foods!

Now done with the April A-to-Z Blogging Challenge, I’m back to fresh local foods – and sometimes more complicated recipes. Last Saturday while I still had W, X, Y and Z to go, I did get to the market Saturday morning. A few early strawberries were available, and lots of early cool weather crops: asparagus, greens, Brussels sprouts, lettuce, greens, radishes, and more greens. Did I mention greens, like kale, chard, turnip & collard greens? And sadly, of that list, Swiss chard is the only one I 4.26.13 MFM food editreally like. I can eat a bite or two of kale, especially kale chips, but turnip greens & collards are among the very few vegetables I don’t like.

My still-favorite way to cook Brussels spouts is pretty simple. Wash and trim the stem end off. Microwave for a few minutes until hot and starting to get tender (maybe 5 minutes for a pint box, as pictured, but it also depends on how big they are). Then saute briefly in olive oil. A little salt and pepper and they’re done. Tossing in a little crumbled bacon is also excellent!

This entry was posted in vegetables and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

