Zucchini!

And the last a-to-z blogging challenge post! I made it!!! Every day for a month (except on Sundays), through the whole alphabet!!!

And at the end of the alphabet of foods is zucchini. Zucchini is such a versatile vegetable. From sauteing to roasting to grilling to zucchini bread & cake & cookies, it can do anything. Zucchini are better when theyzucchini 2009 are young and small and tender…but once your  plants start producing, the zucchini seem to grow from petite to humongous overnight. In fact, there is a national holiday based on the prolific-ness of zucchini: In early August, when the plants are producing more than one family can eat, bake, freeze or can (and freezing or canning are not recommended as the squash gets mushy); when you’ve given zucchini away to all your friends and family and they are saying, Oh, no, No thanks, I have plenty, Really no…. Well, there is a holiday to help you: August 8, National-Sneak-A-Zucchini-Onto-Your-Neighbor’s-Porch-Night. Because when you can’t openly give zucchini away to your family and friends, you have to become stealthy, and sneakily give to them.

The Old Farmer’s Almanac documents the holiday’s origin of desperate give-aways, and offers zucchini info and recipes. http://www.almanac.com/blog/gardening-blog/zucchini-fertility-spawns-annual-holiday

Disappearing Zucchini Orzo is my favorite simple zucchini recipe, & is from Barbara Kingsolver & her book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

  • 3/4 pound package orzo pasta
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 3 large zucchini
  • garlic to taste
  • thyme, to taste
  • oregano, to taste
  • olive oil for sauteing
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Cook orzo pasta in boiling water according to package directions or until tender, drain.

Meanwhile, grate zucchini. Saute onions in olive oil for 3-5 minutes until beginning to turn transparent. Add garlic and zucchini and saute for several more minutes until tender. Stir in thyme and oregano. Add orzo and Parmesan cheese, mix well. Salt to taste. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in vegetables and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Zucchini!

  1. Beverley says:

    I love zucchini! This is my first year planting them in my garden. Thanks for the heads up for harvest time. I will get my recipes ready. Love reading your posts Hope you keep writing regular thanks

    • leesgoodfood says:

      Thanks for the kind words. I hope to continue regular posting a couple times a week, but probably not daily!

  2. I love zucchini ad that book!

  3. rinellegrey says:

    Lol. I love the idea of a national holiday to sneak a Zucchini onto your neighbors porch! I love zucchini chocolate cake!

    Rinelle Grey

  4. Never made zucchini orzo, but my family loves zucchini bread.
    Congratulations on finishing the A-Z!

  5. timsbrannan says:

    Congrats on completing the A to Z challenge! I am glad you made it!

    We cook a lot more with zucchini than ever before. Love zucchini bread too!

    Tim Brannan
    The Other Side and

    The Witch
    Red Sonja: She-Devil with a Sword
    The Freedom of Nonbelief

  6. Jessica says:

    I love the zucchini holiday, too cute. I went through a huge phase of loving zucchini but when I got pregnant with my first daughter the very sight of them grossed me out, I haven’t touched them since. 😦

    Congrats on completing a-z.

Leave a Reply

