X …. in the a-to-z blogging challenge

X is problematic for foods. It’s hard enough to find any useful word that begins with X, but even my resources failed me for a food or recipe that begins with X. Not in Joy of Cooking, Julia Child, Crescent Dragonwagon, Mollie Katzen, Jeff Smith (The Frugal Gourmet). I discovered X is the 3rd least frequently used letter – Q and Z are used less often, although for me looking for foods there is quinoa and quiche and zucchini and zabaglione.find x

X as an initial letter makes lots of appearances in math & science. Find x (math), xylem (plant biology), xenon (periodic table of elements), x-rays, xerox (business). Not so much in cooking. Please share if you know any food or recipe that begins with x?

So as close as I can get with x and food is to use it as an ending letter:  Flax.

Flax is a good source of omega-3, one of two essential fatty acids, also called  alpha – linolenic acid, which is the one we usually find associated with fish.  Flax seed is the common food source, whether pressed into an oil (cold-pressed flax seed oil), good in salad dressings or drizzled over cooked vegetables; or ground into a flour and used in baking. Ground flax seed is recommended over whole seeds, because when whole, seeds may go through the digestive track without being digested, and then you have missed the health benefits. Toss a tablespoon or two into your oatmeal, or into your meatloaf, or soup (for a little thickening, too). You can find lots of recipes at http://www.flax.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to X …. in the a-to-z blogging challenge

  1. I sprinkle flaxseed in smoothies… For my X day, I wrote about ‘solving for x’ similar to your math reference:)) X was the hardest!

  2. I too add Flaxfeed to my morning shakes 🙂 I sometimes sprinkle the flaxseed on my salad ! X is a tough letter, I am still working on it!

  3. Maybe a bit of a cheat to find something Chinese that translates into an X word in English?

    http://effervescencia.blogspot.co.uk/

  4. Beverley says:

    Thanks for the information about ways to use flax seed. I have been trying to lower my LDL. Will check some of your other posts.

  5. shail says:

    I sprinkle flax seed in my porridge.

  6. Sharon says:

    Does the sardine Xouba count? Even though it sounds like it begins with J?

Leave a Reply

