M is for Mushrooms

I love mushrooms! I grew up in PA, and my family originally hailed from Kennett Square, the Mushroom Capital of the World. But for all that, we didn’t have mushrooms very often. Part  of the reason is that I am so old that we didn’t have the huge produce sections with foods shipped in form all over the world, no matter what’s in season. We ate more seasonally, and often vegetables out of season were frozen or canned. So I remember the little canned button mushrooms, which were OK, but not as good as real mushrooms.

Mushrooms are so easy to saute, especially if you buy them pre-sliced. They clean easilymushrooms edit with a soft mushroom brush.  Saute and stir  in a medium pan – when it starts to dry out a little, add a splash of while wine. Spoon over steak or chicken, serve on the side…or add to the asparagus we sauteed at the start of the A-to-Z-challenge! Yum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to M is for Mushrooms

  1. I love sauteed mushrooms! It’s been a while since I’ve had them and happen to have a little asparagus in the fridge. Thanks for planning dinner for me!

  2. Oh mushrooms are such a favorite of mine! My dad used to go to the woods in central Illinois where we lived and find them in the spring. He’d bring home a big bag, saute them in butter and serve us breakfast with eggs and mushrooms. Those were the best mushrooms I’ve ever had! I think I need to follow you. I love a good food blog!

    • leesgoodfood says:

      Thanks for stopping by and enjoying mushroom memories with me! I’m finishing off the ones I photographer for lunch, even as I type.

  3. I used to be a picky eater and would refuse to eat mushrooms (and a lot of other things). How silly I was! Totally was missing out!

  4. Mar says:

    Yum! Choosing to go the Pescetarian route, it’s sometimes hard to go without that meaty texture, but I find that mushrooms are just the thing. Sometimes I’ll fry them on sunflower oil – they go crispy with a nutty flavour. Great for adding to any pasta sauce or even on top of potato soup instead of bacon (I miss bacon). Did I say that out loud?

  5. LWSpotts says:

    Just about everything is better with mushrooms, in my opinion. I love them!

Leave a Reply

