C is for…..??? cheese! chocolate!

There were so many “C” foods to choose: cheese, cranberries, chicken, cantaloupe, coffee, cookies, carrots, cake, cherries, cinnamon chives, chard…what to do, what to do?? One friend suggested “choir food” because when my choir gets together to eat, we have good food!! But there’s enough there for a whole series in itself.

So I decided to go with cheese, one of my favorite all-time foods. Two recipes: one sweet,    one savory. And chocolate – because there’s always room for chocolate.

Cheese and chocolate – together. What? you say. Ah, I say: think tiramisu-flavor. But easier, with only 4 ingredients. Now, none of these measurements are precise, it’s mostly to taste. But I will give a guide to start with. For one serving, take about 1/4 cup of ricotta cheese. Add 1/2 – 1 teaspoon chocolate extract – I usually can’t findricotta tiramisu edit this in the regular grocery section; but it’s often with organic flavorings, or in groceries that carry organic foods. add about 1 teaspoon sugar or sugar substitute. Add 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon espresso powder. Not instant coffee, but espresso powder – I can’t imagine using it to make espresso, but a little is a great addition to anything chocolate to add a little flavor layering. now stir it all up and put into a pretty little bowl. For a little crunch, sprinkle with sliced toasted almonds. that’s it! Enjoy! High protein, low carbs…all good.

And the savory cheese? Cheese crisps: almost as easy. Take any hard cheese – I prefer sharp white cheddar. Slice and place on a piece of parchment paper. Broil, preferably in a toaster oven. When melted and bubbly, pull out and let cool slightly. The nocheese 1w-crisp cheese slides right off the parchment paper. if it’s not crisp, cook a little longer next time – or slide it onto a plate and use a fork. Great with soup, for a snack, or for a quick breakfast. I rolled one up to show that it was really was crisp (soft-crisp – I got anxious and tookcheese 3 it out a little early).

cheese 2

This entry was posted in appetizers, desserts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to C is for…..??? cheese! chocolate!

  1. Katka says:

    OMG I LOVE CHEESE! Therefore I loved this post. Mmmm I eat cheese and crackers for breakfast, it’s the best alternative! Will have to try some of your ideas!

  2. Aviva Orr says:

    Have you ever had Halloumi cheese? It’s excellent for frying. My Dad is from Cyprus and he always used to make it for us. Delicious!

  3. leesgoodfood says:

    I’ve not had Halloumi – but I’ve has flaming cheese at Greek restaurants in New York and Chicago – it that something they might use? It was amazingly good!

Leave a Reply

