Brie…as a grilled sandwich

Have you ever had a piece of one of those yummy baked brie rounds covered with apricot or cranberry or raspberry preserves, sometimes surrounded by puff pastry and baked until warm and melty?? Very tasty but a bit of work. But if there’s just one or two or three of you, there’s lots left over.

So, here’s the solution: a grilled brie sandwich!

Take two slices of nice sturdy whole grain bread, butter one side of the bread and place butter-side down in a pan over medium-low heat. Top with 1/4″ thick (more or less) slices of brie to cover the bread. Top with your favorite flavor of preserves or jam drizzled or spread lightly (or heavily) over the brie. Top with the other slice of bread, buttered on the top ( I know you know how to make a grilled cheese sandwich, I’m just reminding you). Grill on both sides, flipping occasionally until cheese is soft and melty. Sadly there are no pictures at the moment, as I didn’t eat supper at home. But later this week I’ll make a sandwich and the picture to this post…so if it sounds appealing to you, check back over the weekend and there will be pictures.

This entry was posted in entrees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Brie…as a grilled sandwich

  1. OMG! That sounds amazing!!! I really hate that you’re making me go to the store tomorrow……. but I WANT a Brie sandwich!!
    Connie #133
    A to Z Challenge.
    Peanut Butter and Whine

  2. Sharon says:

    I have enjoyed both your posts in the challenge. My son has just started uni and both your posts have been emailed to him.

  3. judy says:

    Yum! Thanks for sharing this great idea,Lee!

  4. I know someone who can live on Brie 😉 I think must say two-ones actually.

  5. melanie schulz says:

    Brie: it should be in a food group all by itself.

  6. Pam Beers says:

    Yummy! Brie is one of my favorite cheeses. Never thought of making a grilled cheese sandwich out of it. Thanks for the idea.

  7. I’d going to try one of those grilled brie sandwiches, sounds so good. Thanks and happy (fat) A to Z.

Leave a Reply

