Happiness IS two kinds of ice cream…

I’ve been reading “The Happiness Project, Or, Why I spent a year trying to sing in the morning, clean my closets, fight right, read Aristotle, and generally have more fun” by Gretchen Rubin,  It’s an interesting experiment, to take a year, and set specific goals or resolutions towards that end.

I’ve always considered myself a mostly happy, generally contented, and even joyful person. I do sing in the mornings – as well as at other appropriate and  inappropriate times. I don’t read Aristotle and probably never will. My closets are not really spotlessly organized, but I’ve moved twice in the past decade, so I’ve tossed a lot of stuff and they could be worse. I do find small things that make me happy, which leads to why I used the title, “Happiness is two kinds of ice cream”. It’s a line from a song in the musical “You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown”. Happiness, sings the Peanuts gang, is also “pizza with sausage…telling the time… learning to whistle… tying your shoe for the very first time” and many more things that I can remember being happy about as a child. I’m still amused by simple things, love watching the weather change (which it does frequently here in the MidSouth) and enjoy the pleasures of the different seasons.

But today, it’s sunny and 80 degrees outside, even though it’s Nov 3, and last week it was 52 degrees and I packed away the summer clothes. So in this heat wave, I’m thinking ice cream and happiness. I have  a Cuisinart freezer ice cream maker that makes about a 1/2 gallon, which is just perfect for me and a friend.

Simple Vanilla Ice Cream and variations

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 cups (1 pint) heavy cream
  • 1-2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

The milk and cream should be well chilled. In a medium bowl, stir the sugar into the whole milk until dissolved. Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla. Pour into your ice cream maker and freeze.

Mint Chocolate Chip: add 1-2 teaspoons peppermint extract (use one teaspoon vanilla) before freezing. Toss in 1 cup of mini-chocolate chips or grated chocolate during last 5 minutes of  freezing.

Cookies & Cream: add 3/4 – 1 cup coarsely chopped Oreos or other cookies during the last 5 minutes of freezing.

This entry was posted in desserts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

