Chicken Pot Pie

Well, after I commented about how hot the weather was getting, I was surprised to find myself fixing chicken pot pie, as it seems to me like a cold weather comfort food. But when I offered cook something chicken, The Boyfriend requested some good homemade chicken pot pie. Not wanting to admit I’d never made any, I prevaricated around sentences of  ‘well, I’ll surprise you with something chicken.’ Then I proceeded to peruse the internet and some of my Northern-based cookbooks, couldn’t find anything I liked, so combined what looked good from a variety of them: no cream-of-anything soups or soup mixes, no potatoes or corn (too starchy with the gravy and pie crust), no boil-the-onions-and-celery-with-the-boneless-chicken…really? Boiling onions and chicken??

I remembered how a friend had once simmered chicken for my Company Chicken Casserole (more on that next winter), but using white wine – what a great flavor that chicken had! So I did that…And I sautéed the chopped onions and celery in a little olive oil, for better flavor. I made a pie crust, a little thicker and more substantial than pie crust for fruit pies – this is a more substantial dish, after all, and used a deep dish casserole. And it came out looking pretty darn good and tasting amazing, if I do say so myself! Yes, the Boyfriend loved it, too.

Soon-to-be-Famous Chicken Pot Pie ( from various internet options 5.12)

Ingredients

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 1 cup diced carrots, then steamed/cooked
  • 1 cup frozen green peas, thawed
  • ½ c. green beans, cooked
  • 1/2 cup sliced celery
  • 1/3 cup butter (or butter & oil)
  • 1 medium chopped onion (larger bite-size pieces)
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed (opt)
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup half & half

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F at some point.
  2. Simmer chicken in a combo of water and white wine until done by temp check (~15 min?)
  3. Saute onion & celery in olive oil until clear and soft. Remove to other veggies.
  4. Melt butter/oil in pan. Mix in flour, stirring well, cook one minute stirring constantly.
  5. Combine broth and half and half.
  6. Gradually stir into vegetable mixture.
  7. Cook over medium heat stirring constantly until thickened and bubbly.
  8. Stir in salt and pepper; add chicken, all vegetables, and stir well.
  9. Pour into pie crust in casserole or deep dish. Cover with top crust, seal. Cut slits for steam to escape.
  10. Bake for 40-50 minutes or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly and cooked through.

Chicken pot pie..after the first servings. Yes, there were seconds. And maybe thirds…but who’s counting?

This entry was posted in entrees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

