Finally done with classes…and time for good food.

Ah, the farmer’s market is filling with produce. And I have time to cook this year!  I have passed my written and oral comprehensive exams for my doctorate, so now am ABD – which means “All But Dissertation”. Perhaps not an official title, but one that feels good! No more classes with test or paper or presentation deadlines! Notice that the book on the bottom is truly titled In Over Our Heads I’ll work on my dissertation proposal over the summer, since some of my committee is gone on vacation. Time to organize my lit review, figure out how to use RefWorks well, and prepare my official presentation. And I can set my own timelines and deadlines now – no tests due, no papers due, no end-of-class presentations.  So….a little more time to cook and prepare foods this year.

So, at the market: Lots of spring greens: turnip & kale (neither of which I really like), and LOTS of lettuces, spinach, strawberries still going strong, broccoli, and one had baby squash, both yellow and little round eight-ball zucchini! Some beautiful purple and some pale green kohlrabi, but I need to find some good recipes to try.

This week I will make broccoli soup..and so left the leeks until next week to make potato-leek soup. This one is simple and delicious. I sprinkle a little cheese on it to serve – grated Parmesan or Asiago is lovely.

Broccoli Soup

I found this on  foodnetwork.com, attributed to Paula Deen. But…but ….but…it uses no butter!

  • 1  head broccoli, cut into florets and steamed
  • 2  cups chicken broth, or more for thinning 9see directions)
  • 1/2  cup heavy cream or half & half
  • Salt  and pepper

Directions

Place steamed broccoli in a blender or food processor and blend until pureed. Transfer puree to a pot and add 1 cup chicken broth and some half and half or heavy cream. Add chicken broth or cream until desired consistency. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

Nice additions: a touch of roasted garlic, a sprinkle of Parmesan or sharp white cheddar cheese.

This entry was posted in soups, vegetables and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

