Market’s open and Spring is back!

It was hard to belive last week’s 85+ temperatures were spring – it was just too hot! But now temps have dropped back to nearer 70-75, the pollen in mostly gone…and the downtown  Memphis Farmer’s Market opened today! I was there bright and early – Flora Farms is the only one who seems to have peonies – and I love the look and scent of peonies. I have meant to plant some for the past three years, but it hasn’t happened yet. Maybe this fall. Meanwhile, these are beautiful and smell lovely.

And I bought lettuces, and some hothouse cherry tomatoes,  and of course strawberries.  And asparagus – I don’t remember seeing that in previous years, and it came in two colors – I love local foods! Will saute some up for post- Easter feasting. There was also some fennel (which I need to find a recipe for), and some huge leeks, and beautiful rainbow swiss chard…but I am trying to keep cooking to a minimum this week while I finish up some school-related things.  Minimum means lots of salads and chocolate. And maybe some strawberry butter. It can be made in small mounts, and will add a nice touch to  Easter evening snacking. I think tea and bread and (strawberry) butter will be supper.

Strawberry Butter

1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened

1 – 1 1/4 cup finely sliced or mashed strawberries

3 tablespoons powdered sugar

Mix softened butter,  strawberries, and powdered sugar together. Beat with a wire whisk until fully blended. Serve at room temperature. (store in fridge, but let stand at room temp. to serve.) It’s excellent on the strawberry bread recipe I posted last week, but also fine on any kind of bread, roll, or biscuit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

