Good food in NOLA

I went to New Orleans for a conference with met up with others who also like good food. And yes, we ate well.

I took the train down – quite affordable and  a lot of fun! Although I took a pass on the train food. I went a day early because of scheduling, so went walking through the French Quarter. Lots of people and lots of music, even on a Wednesday late afternoon. Sunny and warm and humid in mid-March.  Waaay humid. I did a lot of window shopping and admired elegant and expensive Mardi Gras masks – beautiful and amazing. And most shops/artists do not allow photos.

And of course in New Orleans there is lots of food and eating. I’d taken recommendations for places to eat, but also like to see what I can find along the way. I like finding local breweries – they often have good, uncomplicated local food. And good beer.  So I ate supper at a brewery with a second-floor balcony overlooking the French Market & the river…and more people and music. Crab-stuffed shrimp, roasted potato wedges, and asparagus. Mmmm. And yes, I got a sampler of their beers. And something decadently chocolate for dessert, with a praline chocolate crisp on the side. Mmmmm.

The next morning I went out for a walk through the French Quarter again…and got up early enough to get to Cafe du Monde before the lines started. Cafe du Monde was something everyone had recommended, for their cafe au lait and beignets, which are a square fried doughnut/pastry and are served covered with powdered sugar. The morning was incredibly humid and warm. No wonder ferns grow ON buildings! Fog had settled in, moisture was just hanging in the air. But the cafe au lait and beignets were very good. Three of them, a nice size so that I could eat all three and not be overstuffed. Automatically I reached for the substitute sugar for my cafe au lait…there was none. Then I looked again at the pile of powdered sugar on the beignets, and had to laugh. What’s teaspoon of sugar compared to the powdery drift across my plate?? Next time I’ll try beignets at other places with shorter lines at more reasonable hours of the day, but I feel now like I have had “the classic” version. And it was the pièce de résistance to the early and humid morning walk!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

