Fall foods are back! And so am I.

It’s been an adventurous year or two or three. This fall for the first time since 2007, I do NOT have 2 doctoral classes taking up all the time I am not working, singing, or visiting family. So I think the blog is officially back in action.  I’ve never really focused on fall foods, so I should start there. There is a lot more cooking involved with fall foods, so I hope to practice & polish my photography skills of meals in process.

Meanwhile, the end of summer foods are lingering: tomatoes, squash, peppers, eggplant; and the fall foods are coming in: acorn & butternut squash, apples, pears, lettuces, chard…and Pumpkins!!! The herbs are going tall & leggy in the garden and I’m harvesting and either drying or freezing them (more on that another day). The few flowers I’d planted this year, marigolds and lantana, are also leggy and and tired of blooming, and I bought pansies today to replace them. And a Fairytale Pumpkin – can’t you just see it turning into a carriage?

And even though it really is turning to fall here (after a high of 90 + humidity two days ago, the low was 49 last night, only heading for a high of 70 today, and the humidity has disappeared) there are still some summer flowers left. And I’m wondering if I should go get some bacon and thin-sliced white bread and make some Bacon-Tomato tea sandwiches. MMmmm. Gotta enjoy those still lingering summer foods!

Tomato Bacon Tea Sandwiches

6 slices
bacon, cooked till crisp and crumbled
¾ cup Helman’s mayonnaise
1 T Dijon-style mustard
16 slices homemade-style bread, crusts
removed (Pepperidge Farms)
App.4 tomatoes, sliced about 3/8” thick (enough for 8 slices of bread)

In a bowl stir together the bacon, mayonnaise, and mustard.
Spread the bacon mayonnaise on one side of each bread slice, place
tomatoes slices on top, cover with other slice of bread. Cut each sandwich into four triangles.

Makes 32 tea sandwiches (or hors d’oeuvres).

This entry was posted in appetizers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

