Bicolor corn is IN!!

Corn is in, incredibly early, so even with my end-of-June visits, we got some of Tebbs’ local, hand-picked-that-morning, corn. They bring it in to the stand, in large square containers, and the farm stand workers get the corn for you. You tell them how much you want, and they pick the ears out, pulling the silk and shucks back just enough on each ear, to be sure it is a good ear of corn, unblemished. It’s a two-color variety, I think called butter-and-sugar, at least that’s what we’ve always called it – I’ll ask when we pass back through and get more, because it was incredibly good. I’d had trouble with corn in the south last summer, it was kind of chewy – I feared I had lost my skill for cooking it – I tried shorter and longer times, and finally decided it must be the corn.

And now, I find my skills with the corn are undiminished. My mother took of the shucks and silks, which is good, because she is much more meticulous than I am about removing every piece of silk. I run out of patience with all the little silks, but appreciate her persistence immensely while I am eating!! Corn can be grilled or microwaved very successfully, but it is very easy to overcook it either way. I stick with simplicity: Bring a large lot of water, about 1/3 full, to a boil. Drop the corn in, where it will float and if there is enough space, the boiling water bubbles will gently turn it so it cooks on all sides, and cook for 4 minutes. If I have a double layer of corn, so it doesn’t turn, I’ll add a minute or two in time, and then stir them halfway through to arrange the ears. Remove from heat, drain and eat! A touch of butter, a touch of salt! MMMmmmmm. Crisp and tender-crunchy.  For any leftover ears, cut the kernels off, and refrigerate. Toss onto a salad, make corn & black bean salsa, or reheat in a single layer or two in a sauté pan (which gives you more control than a microwave and keeps them crunchier. Although, I confess, I take leftovers to work, and only have a microwave for reheating there.

This entry was posted in vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

