Summer is a comin’ in…

“Summer is a comin’ in” which is the start of a madrigal I learned long, long ago, and since I have a song for everything, I found myself humming it this morning. I am always surprised at how soon summer vegetables start arriving at market in the South, Yes, I know it’s warmer than the far northeast. Yes, I know the frost date is much earlier, so things get planted earlier. But I also think the farmers must do a lot of early starts and protecting fragile seedling when late frosts and cold sweep through.

Here it is, the first week in June, and there are cherry tomatoes, squash, zucchini, peaches and zinnias! Much less lettuce, as it’s been over 90 here all this week. Still some Swiss chard, broccoli and cauliflower. So I have yellow cherry tomatoes, yellow heirloom zucchini and yellow squash, swiss chard, baby leeks and red potatoes (soup is in my future!), purple cauliflower (which I already forgot to put on my lunch salad – I thought it would be beautiful! – some more hydroponic tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuces, zinnias and one black-eyed Susan.

And a cinnamon & sugar doughnut, because Friday was National Donut Day.

This entry was posted in story and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

