Coffee

I first started drinking coffee when I went to graduate school in the my 30’s. Up till then I had been a confirmed tea-drinker. Mint tea was my favorite, but spiced teas were also good. Also just plain old Lipton’s, which is what I had grown up with. But a 7am biochemistry class four mornings a week at a location 90 miles away. . . meant I needed something when class was over at 8am to keep me awake for the rest of the day’s classes, studying, and the drive back home.

I found a cafe, on-campus, with the best-ever pumpkin bread…and after a few weeks of tea, I tried the wonderful smelling coffee (most people who don’t even like coffee will agree that it smells wonderful!) to go with it. Yes, with lots of sugar and cream. Lots of sugar. Lots of cream. With a little coffee in it. And as it got colder in the mornings as fall turned into winter…I kept drinking it in the morning. With more coffee and a little less cream and a little less sugar.  And still do, although I often go back to tea in the summer.

And then I had a friend who made Irish coffee one cold, cold, winter’s evening. Good coffee. With a goodly dollop (or two) of Irish whiskey. And heavy cream gently poured on top. I learned the trick of pouring the cream on the top, too. And a quote to go with it: ‘Only Irish coffee provides in a single glass all four essential food groups: alcohol, caffeine, sugar, and fat.’ ~ Alex Levine 

Consider this a recipe: Get a glass mug. Add good whiskey to good hot coffee (and a little sugar if you require it), and gently pour heavy cream on top over the back of a spoon. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in beverages, story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

