A spell of food

The combination of spelling bee info and French food has overlapped. I just saw the movie “Akeelah and the Bee”, and heard on NPR about a bar with adult spelling bee nights (like karaoke,only challenging). I consider myself a pretty good speller (not a typist, but a speller), and remember winning or coming close back in grade school. I don’t remember the big state & national spelling bees however. I’ll have to look up when they started. And then I saw the movie “Julie and Julia” (and yes, I read the book long ago – I was only sorry I had missed her when she was blogging in 2002).

Inspired by the movie, I tried to look up Bouef Bourgin….well, YOU try to spell it! Did you mean Boeuf Bourguignon, asks google?

Yes. Yes, I did. So I have the ingredient list, but will wait for cooler fall weather to try actually cooking this. Surprisingly enough for someone who loves to cook as much as I do, I have never tried this version.  The baked cucumbers from Julia’s book will happen sooner, however.

And then I was given some eggplant, and tried to look another recipe: ratatouille. But I spelled it correctly the first time! And discovered how many variations there were. I did basic one – Onions, eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, red peppers- and fortunately had both fresh basil and fresh rosemary in my garden – the freshness made a huge difference. And I found a recipe in my Vegetable Lovebook for a ratatouille casserole that includes almost every summer vegetable you can think of – including okra and corn. Yum! Will have to find some okra this weekend.

This entry was posted in story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

