Beets of many colors

Well, beets of at least two colors: traditional deep red-purple, and golden. I keep reading about the beets that alternate golden beetsred and white, so they appear in lovely circular stripes when sliced, but have not located any at the farmer’s markets yet. But  I had a beautiful little bunch of deep reddish beets in my CSA bag, and then, at the opening of the Wednesday Farmer’s Market in Eagles Mere, I found some good-sized golden beets. I really like plain roasted beets, either hot as a side dish, or sliced cold onto a salad. And since it has been so cold here, I’ve had them hot.

And then another benefit to beets that I really should appreciate is beet greens. But you can tell by that “should” that I really don’t. I’ never had them growing up, and I dont’ know how to cook them well. There were some beautiful ones on the golden beets, but I had no interesting recipes with me, or ingredients to make them interesting. I will try to carry them home with me, but fear they will not survive the trip well. I will eventually try cooking some….

                                                                                                                                                                           Lonely, lovely, neglected beet greens:

beet greensRecipe:  Roasted Beets: Trim off beet tops and greens and any roots. Wash beets carefully. Wrap in foil (keep edges facing up, sometimes juice drips out) and place in a 400-degree oven until tender, approximately 40 – 60 minutes. (depends on size of beet). Let cool for 5-10 minutes, then slip off beet skins – they should come off easily with just a little loosening. Eat hot, cool and slice for salads, or wrap and store in refrigerator for several days.

This entry was posted in food info, vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

