Yellow Crookneck Squash

Another week, another CSA bagful! Yellow squash in this one. Mid-June, and what I consider the summer vegetables are already starting to come in. Grilled squash is my favorite, but I am heading out on vacation, and do not have a grill. So I will simply saute in a pan with a little olive oil, and toss is some herbs for seasoning. Also excellent!squash

Recipe: Grilled summer squash. Slice squash 1/4″ – 1/2″ lenghwise into slices. Dip lightly into olive oil, sprinkle with garlic powder. Grill until tender.

This entry was posted in vegetables and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yellow Crookneck Squash

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hey Lee, I am reading your Blog — aren’t you the technology guru now!! Miss you and hope you plan on sharing some cheese with the less fortunate (that means me). EB

  2. Rox731 says:

    My Bangladesh neighbor grows this stuff and I had never had it either. She gives me bunches of it every week. She places a small amount of oil in a pan with garlic and small pieces of onion with salt and pepper. We have been using this as a side dish and it is really good. Hubby likes it better than spinach. It also is really good cooked this way and then cut up mild white fish, I use Tilapia, and cook the fish in it. I cut the fish in squares.

  3. Jewell says:

    Yeah
    I’ve generally liked these better in sauteeing than zuchinni, but will give your ‘forget about them’ a try on the zuchinni!

Leave a Reply

